List Public Holidays in the UAE 2016

The Abu Dhabi Government has announced the list of public holidays for 2016. Be advised that public departments, federal ministries and institutions are closed during the holidays.

You may want to start planning your vacation but please know that although the holidays are official, some of the dates would still depend on the sighting of the moon. We will keep you updated as we hear news and updates on changes. Below is the current official list.

  • 1 January – New Years Day
  • 5 May – Israa and Miraj Night*
  • 6 June – Ramadan expected to begin*
  • 6 July – Eid Al Fitr*
  • 2 September – Haj season*
  • 10 September – Arafat Day*
  • 11 September – Eid Al Adha*
  • 2 October – Hijri New Year*
  • 30 November – Commemoration Day
  • 2-3 December – UAE National Day
  • 11 December – Prophet Mohammed’s Birthday*

*Take note that the Islamic holiday dates are not final as these holidays would depend on the sighing of the moon.


We're on YouTube!
Please subscribe to the Dubai OFW YouTube Channel for updates and tips!